Commendations for Student Service and Leadership

Deadline: March 1

The ANS Student Sections Committee seeks to recognize students whose demonstration of leadership and commitment to outreach and service has resulted in significant achievements and the advancement of the nuclear community.

Faculty Advisors, Department Heads, Student Section Officers, and/or classmates are requested to nominate one or more student for a commendation. There is no limit to how many nominations may be submitted and it is encouraged that all individuals submit separate nominations even if for the same nominee. Students are also welcome to self-nominate.  There is value to all nominations regardless if the nominees are selected for a commendation or not as they will be recognized on the SSC website. Recipients of the commendations are recognized at ANS Student Conference each Spring.


The Commendations Chair will form a Commendations Subcommittee made of students which will evaluate the nominations. To keep the judging of the nominations unbiased, students will not evaluate submission from their same school or for people they know.  There is no limit to the number of commendations given per year and no requirement that any be given at all.  Honorable mentions may also be recognized.

Call for Nominations

It is recommended in case of nomination by Student Section Officers, peers, or self, that a recommendation letter or separate nomination form is submitted by the Faculty Advisor or Department Head.

Nominations must be submitted by completing the nomination form [PDF] [DOCX].

Please email all submissions to the Commendations Chair at




2018-2019 Recipients

Congratulations to the folllowing recipients of the SSC Commendation for Service and Leadership Awards:

  • Michael Hua – University of Michigan
  • Kelley Verner – University of Idaho

Past Service and Leadership Commendations Recipients

2018-2019Michael Hua
Kelley Verner
2017-2018Jeremy J.H. Mettler
Gemma Irais Strong
2016-2017Kalin Kiesling
Aries Loumis
2015-2016Matthew Jasica
Katie Mummah
Miriam Rathbun
2014-2015Andrew Conant
Remy Devoe
Justin Knowles